Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

APA 7th Edition Citation Guide

Learn how to format essays and cite your sources using APA 7th Edition Guidelines.

Entry in a Dictionary, Thesaurus, or Encyclopedia

Note: When an online dictionary, thesaurus or encyclopedia are continually updated use "n.d." for the date and include the date retrieved with the URL.

Entry from an Online Dictionary, Thesaurus or Encyclopedia

References Page Format In-Text Citation

Author, A. A. (Date). Entry/Article title. In Source Title. Retrieved Month Day, Year from: URL  

Merriam-Webster. (n.d.). Abacus. In Meriam-Webster.com dictionary. Retrieved Novemeber 26, 2019, from https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/abacus

Direct quotation:

(Merriam-Webster, n.d.)

Paraphrase:

(Merriam-Webster, n.d.)

Entry from a Print Dictionary, Thesaurus or Encyclopedia

References Page Format In-Text Citation

Author, A. A. (Date). Entry/Article title. In Editor, E. E. (Ed.), Source Title (edition #, pp. page range). Publisher. DOI

American Psychological Association. (2012). Transference. In G. R. VandenBos (Ed.), APA dictionary of psychology (2nd ed., pp. 121-123). American Psychological Association. https://doi.org/10.1037/14944-000

With page number:

(American Psychological Association, 2012, p. 121)

Without page number:

(American Psychological Association, 2012)

 

 

Wikipedia Article

Note: When citing an article from Wikipedia, always cite the archived version.  To access the archived version, click "View History" and select the most recent version of the article.  

References Page Format In-Text Citation

Title of article. (Date of newest archived version). In Wikipedia. URL 

Nursing. (2019, November 23). In Wikipedia. https://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Nursing&oldid=927599645

With section location:

("Nursing," 2019, As a profession section)

Without section:

("Nursing," 2019)